Smoky Mountain Mall

Tennessee Fishing License Regulations and Laws
Gatlinburg Fishing License Regulations and Fees
Fishing is permitted year-round in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, but a valid North Carolina or Tennessee fishing license is required. Either state license is valid throughout the park and no trout stamp is necessary. Licenses are not available in the Park, but can be purchased in Gatlinburg at the City Hall, the Chamber of Commerce and Ace Hardware on Hwy 321.



Fishing licenses go on sale February 18 each year, the beginning of prime fishing, and are valid through the last day of February the following year. You can purchase most licenses, except the Lifetime Sportsman License, from county court clerks, sporting goods stores, hardware stores, boat docks, all TWRA regional offices and here:  Tennessee Online License .

License Ordering By Phone

By calling 1-888-814-8972 you can get your Tennessee fishing and hunting licenses instantly.  An authorization number will allow you to begin fishing or hunting (in season) the minute you hang up.  Regular license fees plus a $3.45 processing fee will be charged to your credit card. 

You can also order your license by mail.  Just send your name, address (including zip code), social security number, date of birth, physical features (height, weight, eye and hair color), and enclose the correct fee to: TWRA Sales Office,
P. O. Box 41729, Nashville, TN 37204-1729. 
NOTE:  All license and permit fees are subject to change.

Who Must Have a Tennessee License?  If you take fish or attempt to take fish (including crayfish) by any method or if you assist someone else to do so, you must have a valid fishing license. There are some exceptions: No Fishing License Needed If:

  • You are under 13 years of age (resident or nonresident). Landowners, their spouses and children, who fish on their farm land which is owned by an individual or a family.  Landowners, their spouses and children must be residents of Tennessee but need not reside on the land. Tenants, their spouses and dependent children who fish on farmland owned by an individual or a family. Tenants, their spouses and dependent children must be residents of Tennessee and must actually reside on the land and have permission of the landowner to fish. A tenant is a person who, for money, free rent, or other consideration, cares for farmland. The tenancy must be agricultural in nature. First cousins who own farmland jointly or in common may fish on the farmland. Their children may fish as well. You are on military leave, carrying a copy of your leave orders. A pass does not meet this requirement. You are a resident who was born before March 1, 1926. (To qualify for this exemption, you must carry proof of your age and residency to show to a wildlife officer, if requested.) It's Free Fishing Day! This year (2005) it falls on Saturday, June 11.
  • It's Free Fishing Week! Children ages 13-15 can fish free June 11 through June 17, 2005 inclusive.

Misplace Your License? If you misplace your fishing license, go to any license agent and ask for a duplicate license. There is a $7.00 replacement fee.

If you are already in Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge or Sevierville, Get your license in these locations. Check Updated Fishing Conditions for the Tennessee Smoky Mountain Area.


We appreciate your visit and would love to hear from you about your
Smoky Mountain vacation experience with cabin rentals, hotels, attractions,
real estate or your wedding. Enjoy your Gatlinburg Cabin or Pigeon Forge Cabin in the Smokies

Smoky Mountain Mall
212 S. Peters Road, Suite 102
Knoxville, TN 37923
Telephone: 865.246.8904 (Advertising only)
Fax: 865.539.0830

© 1996-2011 Gatlinburg TN
Smoky Mountain Mall™ is a Vacation Sites LLC Co.
All Rights Reserved - Smoky Mountain Mall
We specialize in Gatlinburg cabin rentals & Pigeon Forge cabin rentals in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee & North Carolina

Privacy Policy



Custom Search
















Tennessee Fishing licence regulations and law License